Question:
Do sour patch kids go against by vegetarian diet?
2009-11-07 11:18:32 UTC
Well, ive been a vegetarian for about 5 years and i quit eating jello and sour patch kids because someone told me there is cow bones in glucose or something like that. does anyone know if this is true, and what this ingredient is called so i can watch out for it in the future?

Thank you (:
Eleven answers:
Suz E. Home BAKER
2009-11-07 11:46:45 UTC
No, in fact, Sour Patch Kids are vegetarian-friendly. They do not contain gelatin- which is a common ingredient in chewy candies such as Skittles, Starbursts, Gummy Bears, etc.



Glucose is something entirely different. It's basically a sugar molecule- and it is a vegetarian-friendly ingredient.



Gelatin is ground up hooves, bones, ligaments, etc. from animals. The body parts are usually waste products from animals that were slaughtered for meat.



Here is a listing for candies that do not contain animal slaughter ingredients. http://www.peta.org/accidentallyVegan/VeganShoppingQS-Snacks.asp?Category=Snacks



Be sure to read food labels carefully. Yogurts, Jello, marshmallows, rice crispy treats, Pop Tarts, candies, custards, pies, may or may not contain gelatin.
?
2016-09-29 13:56:31 UTC
Sour Patch Kids Ingredients
2009-11-07 11:26:40 UTC
Hi!

i am a vegetarian also and can't stand it when people think they're vegetarians but theyre not. Sour Patch kids do not contain the ingredient gelatin, which is just basically very small animal bones.(sort of ground up...)(eew!)



Called: Gelatin

And, if im mistaken and gelatins in sour patch kds then its also in swedish fish and most gummy-like snacks.



EDiT:

Also in marshmallows and pop-tarts :(
2009-11-07 14:36:01 UTC
It's the gelatin, not glucose :)

It comes from hooves and things like that, not bones.



Very strict vegans will sometimes cut things that use gelatin out of their diets, but since it's not directly meat, it's normal for simple vegetarians to eat them.
Cynthia
2009-11-07 11:34:11 UTC
I've read somewhere that sour patch kids are veggie friendly.



oh look! found the link to a list of candy that is safe :D



http://www.petakids.com/candy.html
2009-11-07 13:15:19 UTC
sour patch kids are vegan

as well as swedish fish, blow pops, dum dums smarties and a bunch of other candies

go to google and type in petas accidentally vegan list
2009-11-07 11:21:54 UTC
F'ing love sour patch kids :D
T.O.
2009-11-07 11:24:11 UTC
glucose is a carbohydrate molecule that your body turns nearly everything you eat into. It is not made of cow bones, it is made of six carbon, 12 hydrogen, and 6 oxygen atoms
?
2009-11-07 11:22:24 UTC
well yes eating sour patch kids is basically eating shriveled up little children!!!!!!!
j bird
2009-11-07 11:21:55 UTC
This is simply a rumor, no need to worry.
2009-11-07 11:22:09 UTC
glucose? Hun, I think you mean gelatin. And yes, it's true


This content was originally posted on Y! Answers, a Q&A website that shut down in 2021.
Loading...